The Three Gunas

    In Ayurveda, it is believed that three fundamental qualities of nature govern everything in the universe: Sattva, Rajas, and Tamas.

    • Sattva embodies clarity and tranquility, facilitating a clear perception of reality through a calm mind. It represents the energy of creation, fostering a harmonious and conscious existence.
    • Rajas, on the other hand, propels us towards external stimuli and the pursuit of material objectives, driven by the gratification of our senses. This quality embodies the energy of preservation, action, and transformative drive.
    • Tamas manifests when consciousness becomes overly fixated on the physical realm. It fosters a sense of stagnation and limitation, hindering spiritual growth and evolution. Tamas embodies the energy of dissolution, urging us to transcend our physical limitations.

    We naturally seek happiness externally, but this kind of happiness is fleeting. The five senses, constantly seeking and responding to stimuli, dominate the sensory mind. As Sattva increases, one achieves peace and harmony and returns to one’s natural state. We should strive to reduce attachment to material and ego-driven sensory pleasures and transcend the tamasic plane of fear, anger, and illusion.



    SATTVA RAJAS TAMAS qualities determine our mental energies and spiritual potential. 


    Ayurveda offers practices for self-improvement and spiritual growth.




    Sattvic, Rajasic and Tamasic Qualities in Planets 

    Sattvic: Sun, Moon, and Jupiter


    In Vedic astrology, the celestial bodies hold symbolic significance, embodying qualities that influence human consciousness. The Sun, Moon, and Jupiter exemplify the Sattvic qualities that aspire toward enlightenment and harmony in both the cosmos and human consciousness.

    The Sun, or Surya, symbolizes vitality, courage, identity, and self-realization. Its radiant energy imbues life with clarity, vitality, and a sense of purpose, inspiring personal growth and transformation.

    The Moon, known as Chandra in Sanskrit, embodies serenity, intuition, and emotions. Its gentle, reflective light illuminates the mind, fostering inner peace and enhancing sensitivity to others’ needs.

    Jupiter, or Guru is revered as the planet of wisdom, prosperity, and expansion. Its influence promotes spiritual growth, generosity, and a broadened perspective, guiding individuals towards higher ideals and understanding.


    Rajasic: Mercury, Venus


    Mercury and Venus are associated with the material realm, desires, and indulgence. Anything that brings joy and sensory pleasure is inherently Rajasic. Beauty, art, fashion, music, or movies cater to our senses. Overconsumption and a focus on material gains often lead to overstimulated senses, with material abundance frequently equated with success.


    Tamasic: Mars, Saturn, Rahu, & Ketu


    Mars, Saturn, Rahu, and Ketu are regarded as the primary manifestations of tamasic energies. Mars (Mangal) represents aggression, impulsiveness, and conflict. Its influence can evoke tendencies towards violence, anger, and discord, fueling disruptive behavior and disharmony.

    Saturn, or Shani, symbolizes limitation and fear. Its presence is often associated with challenges, delays, and hardships, prompting feelings of restriction and despair.

    Rahu (the north node of the Moon) embodies cravings, obsessions, and worldly attachments, leading individuals astray from their true path. Ketu (the south Node of the Moon) signifies detachment, loss, and spiritual disconnection, inducing feelings of emptiness and isolation. Excessive Tamas can trigger emotional, mental, and physical imbalances, significantly affecting our overall well-being.


    In today’s way of life, Rajasic qualities often dominate, leading to a rise in mental health issues across diverse demographics. To cultivate spiritual growth and attain peace of mind, it’s crucial to shift Tamas into Rajas and Rajas into Sattva within ourselves.



    Take the Sattva, Rajas, Tamas Survey Now!

    Sattva, Rajas, Tamas Survey
    The Seven Chakras


    Raising your Vibration

    Starting Next


    Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.